advice you can use — short and to the point — every Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday

Tuesday, October 9th, 2012 technology  research  practice

A Technology Tip

  • Technology

While it is intended to prevent you from accidentally deleting a file, the file delete confirmation box (the little box that pops-up when you delete a file and asks if you are sure you want to delete it) can be a tad annoying, especially if you are deleting a lot of files (say for instance when you are cleaning up your photo collection).
You can easily disable this confirmation (meaning it won’t appear every time you delete a file) by right-clicking the Recycle Bin and selecting Properties. Next, uncheck the delete confirmation box, click Apply and then OK, and you’re done. No more file delete confirmation box.
And remember this trick, you can bypass the Recycle Bin entirely by holding down the Shift key while deleting files. Doing this means you can’t go to the Recycle Bin to restore a file.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *